Paid to Think

Paid to Think

As a matter of disclosure, I read this book as one of the selections for the Credit Union Leaders Book Club group on LinkedIn. In addition, I serve as one of the moderators for the group.

06-09-15_David Goldsmith_Headshot_SM_BIO_Web

This book, by David Goldsmith, is not one of your typical 200-250 page tomes on a business related topic that has been popular for the past several years. This is a detailed explanation of the Enterprise Thinking process and how it can be incorporated across the four key areas of strategizing, learning, performing and forecasting. The book is rich in graphics, examples and exercises to help the reader integrate the process. An advantage is that the graphics can be downloaded from the Paid to Think website.

Strategizing is divided into chapters encompassing Developing Plans, Creating New Products and Services, Establishing Alliances and Leveraging Technology. I found each these chapters especially intriguing in that they caused me either think in a different way or give organization to the thought processes that I have used in the past.

Learning contains chapters on Acquiring New Knowledge, Enhancing Global Awareness and Watching Competition. As Learner is my strongest characteristic on the Strenghtsfinder profile, I found this section provided me with several new ideas to expand my quest for knowledge.

Performing has chapters that address Leading the Charge, Empowering Others, Innovating Everywhere and Selling Continuously. Yes, this section of the book is about leadership. While it contains several points that I have read in other books, blogs, etc. I still found the ideas and concepts of interest.

Forecasting was a single chapter on Forecasting the Future. It provided me with some additional organization and processes for thinking about the future for myself and the organizations that I work with.

The last chapter in the book is devoted to implementing the ideas and concepts contained within the chapters.

The book is well researched with extensive notes and a glossary that addresses the terms used by the author.

This is the type of book that you will need to go back and reread chapters as you implement the process of Enterprise Thinking in order to make sure that you are not skipping any of the steps.

I recommend this book for individuals who are truly serious about expanding the way they think and are willing to spend the time and effort needed to do

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in B2B, B2C, Business Strategy, Ecommerce, Leadership, Sales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

