Too Big to Ignore: The Business Case for Big Data

Too Big To Ignore

As a matter of disclosure I read this book as part of the 12 Book Group with the expectation that I would participate in discussions on Goodreads and post reviews on Amazon, Goodreads and my business book blog.

This was an informative and, for me, a somewhat challenging read. Author Phil Simon presented the business case for big data from a big picture perspective, but I think that I would have gotten more from the book if I had a better background in some of the technical issues presented. That aside, it was an educational read as I have a better understanding of the concept of big data and some of its potential uses.

 Phil Simon

Two things about the book that I really appreciated were the summary at the end of each chapter and the notes listed at the end of each chapter. The notes at the end of the chapter made it much easier to find and read related material to the chapter. Most books place these at the end and I find myself flipping back and forth. Kudos to Phil or whoevers idea it was to set the book up in this way.

Some of the examples in the book were familiar as I had read about them in either other books (not directly addressing big data) or in articles relating to big data. I enjoyed Chapter 2 – Demystifying Big Data, Chapter 7 – Big Data: Big Issues and Big Problems and Chapter 8 – Looking Forward: The Future of Big Data the most as these were easier for me to follow without having to either go back and rereading passages or referencing the notes to gain a better understanding of the concepts presented. I feel that it also helped that I had read a half dozen of the books presented in the selected bibliography at the end of the book.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who is looking to gain a better understanding of the concept of big data, its potential uses (good and bad), and the challenges that it presents to organizations and individuals.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in B2B, B2C, Business Strategy, Ecommerce, Sales and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too Big to Ignore: The Business Case for Big Data

  1. Phil Simon says:

    Thanks, Casey. I appreciate the honest review.

Leave a Reply

