How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About Where, When and Why It Happens

How We Learn

I received a prerelease e-copy of this book through NetGalley (publication date September 9, 2014) with the expectation that I will post a review on their site and others (my blog, Goodreads, Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, Twitter, Amazon, etc.).

I requested this book based on having read The Power of Habit; Thinking, Fast and Slow and The Myths of Creativity. I felt that the topic covered would add to the insights that I garnered from the other three books. I was not disappointed.

The author, Benedict Carey, presents a well thought out and researched analysis of how people learn. The book is also easy to understand and is a fairly quick read.

What I most enjoyed was realizing that many of the concepts that he presented had worked well for me in the past. This included taking breaks from an intense project; daydreaming or doodling; forgetting nonessential things and how sleep can bring insights to the surface (naps can also assist in the process).

He also deconstructed long held beliefs about learning including that studying in a quiet room is better; rote memorization (10,000 hour concept) is needed to become an expert; distractions are a hinderance and being an expert automatically gives one a leg up.

His suggestions for the proper approach to testing were spot on ( I wish I knew this when I was teaching many years ago).

I strongly recommend this book for anyone who enjoyed the three books that I listed in the second paragraph or for anyone who has an interest on how we truly learn.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Education, Self Improvement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

