Worlds

Worlds

I received a prerelease e-copy of this book through NetGalley (publication date December 2, 2014) with the expectation that I will post a review on their site and others (my blog, Goodreads, Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, Twitter, Amazon, etc.).

This book was sent to me by the publisher and the first that I have read by Joe Haldeman in several years.  I will give you my opinions on this book without giving away the substance of the book. I hate it when reviewers do that and if I read the review first I tend not to read it.

The book was published 33 years ago so it made for an interesting read as to how he viewed how the future transpired over time. The reader must keep this in mind as the plot line progresses in particular when it comes to social issues. The way in which Haldelman presented the story line made it difficult for me connect with some of the characters.

This book is not on the level of his Forever War series, but I recommend it if you enjoy reading earlier science fiction to determine how accurate the author’s predicitions actually turned out.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worlds

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    “I will give you my opinions on this book without giving away the substance of the book. I hate it when reviewers do that and if I read the review first I tend not to read it.” — there are different types of reviews…. Some are more analytical, and some, like yours rely on us trusting your opinion without actually giving any evidence… It’s easily simply to state that there are spoilers in your review and provide an actual argument with evidence for why you feel the way you do about the story.

Leave a Reply

