The Last Drive

The Last Drive

I received a pre-release e-copy of this book through NetGalley (publication date May 26, 2015) with the expectation that I will post a review on their site and others (my blog, Goodreads, Facebook, Google +, LinkedIn, Twitter, Amazon, etc.).

I requested this book as I have read several of the Nero Wolfe novels by Rex Stout.  I will give you my opinions on this book without giving away the substance of the book. I hate it when reviewers do that and if I read the review first I tend not to read it.

This is a compilation of short stories written by the author prior to beginning the Nero Wolfe series. Many were published either in whole or as serials in various magazines. The stories covered various different topics.

I have to admit that I did not enjoy those that the author attempted for romance magazines as that was not his forte. Several of the other stories gave insight into the future development of his Nero Wolfe series in the way that the main characters interacted and solved mysteries.

I would recommend this book for those who have an interest in how the author developed his style prior to the Nero Wolfe novels.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, Thriller and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

