I’d Know That Voice Anywhere: My Favorite NPR Commentaries

25955353

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Grove Atlantic, the publisher in exchange for a review that is posted on Net Galley, Amazon and my blog. I also posted the review on my Facebook, LinkeIn, Twitter and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book based on reading and hearing some of Frank Deford’s commentaries which I always found interesting.

The book is engaging and a fast read. Due partly to the content and partly to the fact that the commentaries are short. The author covers a broad range of subjects, primarily sports, over a long period of time. Each commentary has the date is was recorded which makes it easier to adjust to the circumstances of the time. I would have preferred that the chapters were in chronological order instead of bouncing around the timeline.

The only drawback is that the reader needs to have a working knowledge of the events taking place during the time period of the commentary.

I recommend this book as a viewpoint to events that have taken place in our country over the past 20 plus years.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Humor, Net Galley and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

