That’s Not How We Do It Here!

29630540

I received a free Kindle copy of this book courtesy of Net Galley and Penguin Group, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon and my review blog. In addition, I posted reviews to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I  requested this book because I have read all of John Kotter’s books and found them thoughtful, informative and engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed his (and Holger Ratheber) other animal group based book “Our Iceberg is Melting”.

This book did not disappoint in any way. The subtitle is clear about what the book is all about: A Story About How Organizations Rise and Fall – and Can Rise Again. In their first animal parable the authors used penguins. This time they used Meerkats searching for a better way for their colony to thrive and survive. I will not give away the story line, but I will say that they have a most interesting journey.

In the last few chapters the authors discuss the differences between management and leadership and how they work together within an organization.

I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in how organizations can thrive and also enjoys an entertaining read!

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Net Galley, Teams and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

