The Massacre of Mankind

27405762

I received a free Kindle copy of The Massacre of Mankind by Stephen Baxter courtesy of Net Galley and Crown, the publisher. It was with the understanding that I would post a review on Net Galley, Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and my book review blog. I also posted it to my Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google Plus pages.

I requested this book as I am a fan of the original War of the Worlds and the description sounded interesting. I have read a few books by Stephen Barnes.

I should know by now that trying to write a sequel to a classic like War of the Worlds a century later is not a good idea. Baxter writes in the style of H. G. Wells, but does not capture the imagination or make the characters interesting. It is sluggish throughout with no section that gives one hope that it will improve. It does not help that this sequel is four times the length of the original. I debated between one or two stars for this book and decided to be kind and give it two.

I can’t really recommend this book to anyone, but I highly recommend that you read the original War of the Worlds if you have not.

About caseywheeler

My interests include: Model trains, Reading, Genealogy, New York Yankees and helping organizations be successful.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Net Galley, Science Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

